Please Forgive Me…


forgivemeI’ve never been the one to pay much attention to the news.  About 93% of the time all the news reported is bad and depressing.  I’m a firm believer in keeping all negativity out of my life to have room for the positive and uplifting moments.  It’s about 11:45 pm, I’m riding to Harris Teeter to get me a late night meal because I haven’t ate all day.  I’m bumping the classic Nas album I Am… and I’m browsing twitter while riding the freeway.  Due to social media news travels about 100 times faster than it has in the past 5-10 years. Unfortunately Robin Williams passed away today. RIP

About 8 out of every 10 tweets on #BlackTwitter is about Mike Brown and the way the Ferguson Police department is handling this tragedy.  Normally when I hear of things like this I think about it for a few minutes and then go on with my life.  I’ve always had the mentality that if it didn’t directly affect me then basically I don’t care. Yea Yea I know I shouldn’t think like that but that is what has gotten me through a lot of rough patches in my life.

I’m reading tweet after tweet of other’s opinions, statements, and feelings toward the situation and then I see One of the most powerful pictures I’ve seen in quite sometime.  It’s was a standoff between the police in riot gear and protestors.  It got me to thinking that maybe I turn my cheek to too many controversial and significant current events.  As Nas – We Will Survive fades into the background I imagine the pain of Mike Brown’s mother and it instantly made me weak because I pictured my mother in the same situation with me being Mike Brown.  My mother would be absolutely crushed!  An innocent BLACK male gunned down in the middle of the street like his life’s value was less than nothing.  No this wasn’t black on black crime, no this wasn’t another Chicago killing, this was an innocent man shot by the police.  Not only was he a black man but he was a black male with a future who has/had one of the strongest support systems behind him…his community.

I got to thinking what if that was my little cousin, my oldest nephew, or any one of my younger family members.  I would be extremely pissed and my initial reaction would to want revenge and become violent.  At this time being violent isn’t the answer.  Tearing down your community isn’t the answer.  Feeling some type of way towards every white man you encounter isn’t the answer.  I don’t have the answer but what I do know is none of the previous mentioned will solve anything.

I use to think Al Sharpton was just another black man who was a media junky always seeking the spotlight for personal gain.  As I’ve gotten older I’ve come to appreciate him more because he brings awareness to situations such as this tragic event and goes above and beyond to assure things like this doesn’t continue to happen in the black community.  I have no doubt had all this media coverage not occurred the Ferguson Police would’ve swept this under the rug and painted the picture they gunned down another street thug in attempt to clean up the streets.

It’s unfortunate we live in a a country who claims that every man is equal (The Declaration of Independence wasn’t wrote with the black man in mind) yet the one’s who are given the responsibility to protect and serve are the ones we should fear most. Mike Brown’s family and other families who have been wronged by the police will forever be in my prayers.  If I’m ever blessed with a child I hope the only knowledge they have of the society we live in is from what they’ve read in history books and not what they’ve experienced first hand.

Again, I apologize for being ignorant to these situations and turning the other cheek because it didn’t directly affect me when in actuality it does.  It’ll only get worse if we continue to allow things like this to happen and act like it’s no big deal.  I remember being pulled over by the police four times in one week and not receiving one ticket.  The first three times I chalked it up to being in the area of town I was in at the time of night I was there but the fourth day I came to the realization that I was being racially profiled.  Things like this will continue to happen until we stand our ground and put an end to it.

 

